It’s just a game… or srs biz.

Now that I’ve started WoW back up, I’ve also been following along with all the new stuff Cataclysm will be adding to the fray.

I think one of the biggest changes that Blizzard is making to the series is the talent points system… and let me tell ya, there are people screaming bloody murder because of it.

You can read the full deal here, but the long story short version is that Blizzard is trying to streamline talent trees so that people can feel like the type of specification they are trying to be, such as Arms Warrior, or Feral Druid, or Best Master Hunter, right off the bat… without having to slog through worthless points, or 50 something levels.

There is a lot of good I can see that comes of this, but at the same time, I worry for the customization thing that we gamers love to death… bro.

Let’s start with the bad, since negativity is a fine way to lead into anything.

I think one of the big problems with this system is that they quite literally shove you into a tree, and keep you there. If you decide you want to be a BM Hunter, that’s IT. You are a BM Hunter until you hit 70.

Although that’s fine and wonderful for new people (maybe), people who play games a lot like to have a choice on whether they stick with a set talent tree, or switch to something to try out a new strategy.

Granted, on my Hunter, I went full 51 points into BM before I switched over to Survival, so something like this doesn’t phase me in the slightest.

But I can definitely see how some people will be shitting bricks because of this change. Someone mentioned in the comments in the above page that some of the 51 points in different trees are just worthless. And I definitely saw this back in the day with my Feral Druid. They fixed that later, but damn was the 51 point talent for Druids horrendous.

Also, I’m not sure how Blizzard is going to deal with carbon copies. Literally, every BM, Survival, Marksmanship Hunter will be EXACTLY THE SAME, until the much higher levels.

I think Blizzard is trying to get new people out of the lower levels faster, but still, I see this being a problem as the game progresses.

I think being locked into your tree is a problem, but maybe this isn’t the end all beat all. There is a definite possibility that they will change this as the testing rolls on.

I also agree with one comment on the forum that mentioned Feral druids and their talent trees. I know that Howler, my Feral drood had MANY points in Restoration, as I used things like Omen of Clarity and whatnot. How is a Feral druid going to survive in just one tree? I find that ridiculous.

But what about the good of this system? Well, I can see this definitely removing some of the monotony of leveling. Almost every level will give you something interesting now, and you don’t have to wait as long to use interesting moves.

I think if I could Bestial Rage at level 10 with my Hunter, I would enjoy that highly… even if that seems kind of ridiculous (word of the day I suppose) to me.

I think one of the BIGGEST positive of this change is that now, you no longer have to shove points into filler talents just to get to a talent you want. Once I hit 70 on my hunter (click that), I wanted to go into a few of the areas in Survival… I mostly just wanted Hawkeye and some of the trap talents.

Well, I ended up having to put points in Improved Tracking, which is utterly useless in my opinion. It’s nice for instances (but not that nice), but as a whole, I would have loved to have used those points in something else.

I will say, however, that Blizzard hasn’t really let me down yet. I wouldn’t be playing this game again if they sucked at what they did *coughModernWarfarecough.*

~ by machombie on 08/18/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
