Happy gaming New Year!

Around this time, gaming websites, magazines, companies and gamers look back at the awesome games of the year.

That’s not how I roll.

Since 2010 will be tomorrow, it’s time to take a look at the excitement (and of course, financial burden) that the New Year brings in gaming!

Please note, these are the games that are getting Machombie in squee mode, this does not represent anything… but it will show how awesome 2010 will be for gaming. Also, I don’t think some of the later games have concrete release dates (do they ever?) so bear with me.

Here we go!

Bayonetta (January 5th, 2010): Ah yes, Bayonetta. Scantily clad witch, who shoots people not only with her hands, but with her feet, angels, extremely crazy combos, sexual puns and innuendo and epic boss fights. Did I mention scantily clad? I would assume since Hideki Kamiya, you know the guy who directed Devil May Cry, is the mastermind behind this, it’s going be ridiculous. I played the demo, it was enjoyable, my only qualm being the possible storyline flatness. Either way, the first game purchase of 2010!

Army of Two: The 40th Day (January 12th, 2010): The first Army of Two was amazing, I don’t care what anyone says. I really think this was a highly underrated game. It was a game I picked up with TheNiz, just as something we could co-op and have fun in, with no pressure. It turned out to be a ton of fun, something I looked forward to almost every night. So when they announced a sequel, I was sold. Salem and Rios are back, and I could not be more excited. Not much else to say. Seeing where I’m at monetarily, this may end up being my first game purchase of 2010 and not Bayonetta. Can’t wait. Just call me Miss Cleo!

Dante’s Inferno (February 9th, 2010): Okay, so a game based on a book that made a friend of mine want to tear her eyes out in frustration when they forced her to read it for class may sound like a terrible idea, but let me tell you, I was proven wrong. I played the demo a few days ago, and God of War may have some competition. Now, some would say the story is a little lax, and it’s supposed to be based VERY losely on The Divine Comedy, which would lead some to deem this game boring. I say to those people, play the demo. The graphics are top notch, it runs super smooth, the set pieces are gorgeous, and I think the story fits well for what they have to work with. Nine levels of hell, Dante KILLING death and using his Scythe, holy symbols, naked ladies! I’m in.

Bioshock 2 (February 9th, 2010): Oh choices. This or Dante’s Inferno. When the first Bioshock came to the PS3, it was exciting. The first one was great game, very deep with amazing gameplay… however, I have to admit, I didn’t COMPLETELY finish it. I think I got to the point where I had to collect some stuff to make a Big Daddy (don’t worry, that wasn’t really a spoiler) and well, I sort of just got bored I suppose. But, Bishock 2 let’s you actually play as a Big Daddy… and now, there are Big Sisters! Oh, what mysteries lie in new Rapture?

Heavy Rain (February 16th, 2010): The graphics look killer, and the choices are apparently ridiculously deep. This is also the first game that I can think of where a main character dying does NOT end the game. It looks good. I might wait a bit for it, but it does look like a really good idea.

Final Fantasy XIII (March 9th, 2010): FINALLY, a turn based RPG, and Final Fantasy to boot. The last Final Fantasy I truly loved was Final Fantasy VIII, so as you can see, it’s about time. Luckily, it looks like they’re going back to their roots, and the graphics look ridiculous. Eidolon/GF/Aion summoning in hi-def! Sign me up!

God of War 3 (March 2010): This is the first game demo I’ve ever played in my life where I played it numerous times. Numerous times. This game is going to be epic. EPIC! ‘Nuff said.

Super Street Fighter IV (March 2010): The month on this one seems to be fluctuating. As much as they keep saying this is just an “update,” from all the stuff they are adding (new Ultras, new story, new characters, new cutscenes, etc) it might as well be a sequel. Dee-Jay mon, Balrog has a friend now!

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands (May 2010): Now, I liked the new Prince of Persia, you know, the one about light and dark and whatnot. This Prince of Persia, however, returns to the sands of time trilogy. I loved Prince of Persia, Prince of Persia: Warrior Within, and to some extent, Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones, and spent a good amount of my high school years playing them, so it’s exciting to see this game make its way to next-gen. Not much info on this game yet, but I’ll keep you posted.

Max Payne 3 (Q4 2010): I would say Max Payne invented bullet time in gaming. I remember not having a computer strong enough to run Max Payne 2 back in the day, and I was sorely disappointed. Shouldn’t have that problem now, hopefully. But the first two Max Payne games are epic to a high degree, so hopefully this game will take that epic to a new high.

Star Wars: Old Republic (Who knows…): We’ve talked about this game off and on here at The Balrog Blog, but either way, AWESOME! I want to be a Sith Warrior, now. Now. NOW! Could this be the WoW killer? Only time will tell.

As you can see… I’m going to be broke in 2010. Oh no, my fight money!

Here’s to wishing you guys a happy New Year, and may your gaming be just as enjoyable and strong as it was in 2009! See you next year for more exciting video game blogging, with a satirical spin!

~ by machombie on 12/31/2009.

2 Responses to “Happy gaming New Year!”

  1. Great post Machombie except I completely disagree and slightly agree at the same time about some things. The new Army of two looks great I’ll agree, and I can’t wait for Star Wars: Old Republic (and I’m not even a Star Wars fan). And Zeus himself knows that when God of War III comes out then it’s all over for my social life because Kratos and I are going to be hanging out way too much. But I completely disagree about Dante’s Inferno, the story is ok but I did not like the game play. To say that God of War might have some competition is right but wrong at the same time. God of War might have some competition but God of War III does not. I felt like the movements in the game were not very smooth and that the combos were much more difficult to keep up because the amount of area you have to move around because the scythe doesn’t move as easily as the blades of chaos. It’s a good start for them, the game isn’t bad but it needs some work. I think I’m going to have to post the games I’m looking forward to next year too.

  2. […] looking forward to Heavy Rain. As I said in this post, this year is shaping up to be amazing in […]

Leave a Reply

 
