Nerd Rage moment #281: Losing.

A few administrative things before I start my insightful, and important rant.

I know you all have been DYING for a Meme Monday, as we have not been doing it for two weeks (click the tag Memes in the sidebar if you have no idea what I’m talking about) and well, I take full blame, mia culpa.

I just have not been researching it, and you guys, my loyal readers (heh) deserve better than shoddy, half thought up, slapped together… pictures that other people may or may not have made!

Better I say!

So hopefully, that will be back to normal Monday.

Now on todays post.

Losing blows.

Now, I am all for games being fun. Honestly, I have been trying my damnedest to relax and just have fun with my games, as that is their purpose.

But when you play “competitive games” with… how should I say… “douche wibblers” (patent pending) it tends to grind on your nerves when you lose.

Thus, Nerd Rage!

As I said, lately I’ve been trying really, really hard not to let it get to me, but it does royally blow when you lose to someone who is really not deserving of their wins.

But it brings the question of… honor in gaming?

Is there any honor in gaming? I mean, you do what you have to do to win… camping, sniping, jumping backwards, hadouken-ing… it’s all part of the game mechanic, so it’s legitimate… so we should have no problem with it right?

But we still complain about camping, we still complain about the little pansy who jumps around, and we still complain about getting sniped over, and over, and over again.

Is it our own faults? Is it because we’re not “good” that we can’t defeat these nefaroious foes?

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

I know that a good 80% of the time, if I’m angry after a game of Street Fighter, Blazblue, Modern Warfare 2, Fifa… it’s my own fault. Missed inputs, slow reactions… crappy team choice, it just boils down to “you’re good, or you’re not.”

Or does it?

Then there is luck, sometimes you’re just in the wrong place at the wrong time. I’ve played with a group of people in Modern Warfare 2 and gone 30 and 1, then in the next game 12 and 13. Either I”m god like, or I really blow.

I suppose.

I admit, I’m not the best… at well, any game. So why do I have this blog? Why do I still play these games? Why do you read this?

Well, because I love these games, no matter what, and part of the love for these games is improving myself in any way possible…

So is it right to be angry at people who exploit your emotions by doing something so utterly annoying and frustrating that you lose?

Well… no.

So what’s the point?!

I guess the best way to sum this up is with a man who has the knowledge of the streets behind him (I’ll let you do the research of who it is, really easy to find):

“Nevermind what haters say, ignore them ’till they fade away.”

And that’s just what I’ll do. My money, my PS3, my fun, and if you think I suck, well go play someone better, and lose to them.

Because trust me, a fantastic Street Fighter player would rock your flowchart Ken.

~ by machombie on 12/30/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
