If you build it, they will come.

I just got an e-mail from Gamestop (how they know my e-mail, I have not a clue, it’s not like I gave it to them… ha, ha, Gamestop joke) and it’s a very exciting e-mail… but it got me thinking about a trend that’s becoming much more prominent as real big wig games are getting ready to be released:

Mmmm, collectible.

For those of you who don’t trust me enough to click on that, it’s basically announcing the super mega awesome, $99.99 God of War III, the rip your face off edition.

I got excited… a replica of Pandora’s box?! Arts stuff! Other stuff!

But I dropped into my “ponder pose”… lately, companies have been really dishing hard on collector’s edition, and really expecting us to pay it!

And we are!

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s a very simple solution. Don’t buy the collector’s edition.

But the problem with that is, the love for a game can go much deeper than monetary values.

Batman: Arkham Asylum was a great example of a game who’s potential and mark where both very strong. It was the cool Batman, the cool Joker, all wrapped up in a gritty and raw video game where you got to ACTUALLY play as the Dark Knight as you would imagine him when he’s out and about, saving lives. You got to experience a fantastic game, and in the process, they milked you for nearly $100 for extra stuff.

Is it all bad? Nah, that Batarang was mighty cool. But it makes me wonder sometimes if they’re taking it a bit too far.

Modern Warfare II, another gigantic release this month, decided to go mega ridiculous, and is putting out four different ways to buy Modern Warfare II:

Standard, Hardened, Veteran and Prestige.

Now, if by some stroke of chance you are not a gamer, and are going “hey, what’s the big deal?” let me go ahead and let you know what the big deal is.

The Prestige collector’s edition comes with Night Vision goggles. Real. Night. Vision. Goggles.

Wow.

But I’m sure they’re rushing to fill pre-orders of the Prestige mode, I swear it.

I think at some point, gamers will get fed up with the price of even the standard edition of games and just stop buying them… then we can go back to 40-50ish games.

I highly doubt that though. Even as I type this, I’m wondering when’s the best time to pre-order my $99.99 collector’s edition of God of War III.

Pandora’s Box!!

But if you really stop and think about it, it’s kind of sad that I’m paying as much for this game as I would for half a new PS3… throw on top of that the HD version of God of War I and God of War II and I basically paid for my system… again.

Now, actually talking about the game… I’m going to assume that receiving a Pandora’s Box as part of the collector’s edition means that it is important in some way to God of War III.

Mmmmm, can’t wait.

Let’s just hope they don’t announce, let’s see, a Super Street Fighter IV, Indestructible, Go for broke Edition, or a Devil May Cry 5, SS rank Edition, which comes with ALL previous Devil May Cry games… Or like, Deadspace II, so special an edition that no one even knew the game was already finished and ready to be shipped.

Because that would suck… sooooo badly for me.

~ by machombie on 11/01/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
