If WoW and Call of Duty had a baby…

It would be named Borderlands, and it would be a beautiful baby.

Yesterday I picked up Borderlands, mostly out of whim. I loooove the cover:

Borderlands

And this was the cover of a strategy guide that caught my eye…

Now, I really liked the Borderlands commercial, but I wasn’t really convinced by the preview that GameInformer did on it, and usually this is where I get most of my gaming news. I never played Fallout 3, and honestly it was because of things like the V.A.T.S system and generally the idea of a First Person Shooter (FPS) being melded with a Role Playing Game (RPG.)

So Borderlands rolls around, has the same idea, and I was not convinced… but flipping through the strategy guide and having seen the high score GameInformer gave it on their website, and I decided to give it a whirl.

WOW!

I was hooked. I’ve haven’t wanted to “gain one more level before I quit” since, well, Aion. On top of that, I couldn’t believe how much fun the FPS aspect of it was. It felt so smooth, it was like playing any other FPS, like Call of Duty.

Right off the bat, the art style is amazing. There was a big to do when Gearbox decided to change the art style. Of course, at the time, I didn’t know why I should have cared. However, this art style looks a lot like the movie A Scanner Darkly and it really adds to the originality and quirkiness of the characters and the story.

The intro movie starts off with the song Ain’t no rest for the wicked by Cage the Elephant. A bus runs into a Skag (enemies you meet later, sort of like a mutated dog) and the bus driver gives you a little intro about who’s riding his bus. As the camera turns, it shows off the four classes, the four people on the bus.

There’s the hunter/pet class, Mordecai, Lillith, the “siren” or rogue type character, Brick, the tank/fury style character and Roland, which is the soldier class, so I assume that you have a wide variety of weapon uses.

I chose Mordecai, and so far the sniping has been fun. I wish Bloodwing (the pet) was more useful, but we shall see.

Now, the story feels a bit flimsy. You have to find a vault. The end. I’m sure the vault has like, super awesome riches, I just not sure why I should care. This is all ignored, however, as soon as you start playing. Who cares why you’re doing it, you’re just trying to survive in a post-apocalyptic world, with awesome guns. ‘Nuff said.

There is a guardian angel too, very techno-punkish, where there is like static and close ups on her face and whatnot. She’s supposed to be guiding you to the vault for some reason, we shall see what happens there too.

I really love that the humor is low key, funny, but not griding, in your face funny. My personal favorite thing so far is Claptraps, little anthropomorphic robots who help you along the way.

When I reached the first boss, I laughed out loud (which is good to do in a game, right?) The boss appeared, and the splash screen, graphic novel style profile appeared, with his name splashed on the screen diagonally, which said:

Nine-Toes (also, he has three balls)

It’s those things that make Borderlands so funny, very smart, and very fun to play.

~ by machombie on 10/28/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
